Contact Address

Directorate of Town & Country Planning
Dispur, Guwahati 781006


India Portal


(An act to provide for the development of the towns and country sides of the State of Assam)


Constitution of the Advisory Council

  1. Constitution of the Town and Country Planning Advisory Council: -

    (1) The State Government may constitute, by a notification in the Official Gazette, the Council consisting of the following members to advise the Government on matters referred to it: -
  2. 1Minister-in-charge of Town and CountryChairman
    2Director of the Town and Country Planning DepartmentSecretary
    3Secretary, Town and Country Planning DepartmentMember
    4Chief Engineer, Public Works Department (R&B) or his nomineeMember
    5Chief Engineer, Public Works Departments (Flood Control) or his nomineeMember
    6Public Health Engineer or his nomineeMember
    7Secretary, Local Self-Government or his nomineeMember
    8Secretary, Finance Department or his nomineeMember
    9Secretary, Revenue Department or his nomineeMember
    10Six other non-official members half of whom shall be elected by the Assembly and the rest shall be nominated by the State Government Member
    11Such number of representatives of Local Authorities falling within the area as may be covered by the Master Plan not exceeding two as may be co-opted by the Council by notification, published in the official Gazette.Member

    (2) Five of the members attending any meeting of the Council shall form the quorum for the purpose of transacting the business of that meeting of the Council.

    (3) All members of the Council including the co-opted members shall have one vote each and the Chairman shall have a casting vote in case of equality of divisions, in addition to his own vote.

    (4) Nothing done by the Council in its meeting shall be held to be invalid because of any vacancy in the seats of the nominated or elected members of the absence of any of the members for any reason whatsoever.

    (5) The Chairman shall preside over the meetings of the Advisory Council and in his absence the members present shall elect one among themselves to be the present for that particular meeting.

  3. Resignation of non-official members: - Any non-official member may at any time resign his office, provided that his resignation shall not take effect until accepted by the State Government.
  4. Term of office:- The term of office of any non-official member shall ordinarily be three years: Provided that in case of the members representing the Legislature or Local Authorities, their, terms of office shall terminate as soon as they cease to be members of such Legislature or Local Authority as the case may be.
  5. Commencement of the term of office of non-official members: - (1) The term of office of non-official members shall commence on such date as may be notified in this behalf by the State Government.

  6. (2) A person ceasing to be member by reason of the expiry of his term of office as described in section 5, shall be eligible for re-nomination or re-election.

  7. Removal of non-official members: - The State Government may remove from the Council any member who: - (a) Refuses to act, or becomes incapable of acting or absents himself from three consecutive meetings of the Council and is unable to explain such absence to the satisfaction of the Council; or (b) Has so flagrantly abused in any manner his position as a member of the Council as to render his continuance detrimental to the public interest: Provided that when the State Government proposes to take action under the forgoing provisions of this section, an opportunity of explanation shall be given to the member concerned and when such action is taken, the reasons thereof shall be placed or recorded.
  8. Filling of casual vacancies:-

    (1) When the place of a member nominated by the State Government becomes vacant by his resignation, removal or death, the State Government shall appoint a person to fill the vacancy.

    (2) When the place of a member elected or co-opted becomes vacant, he shall be elected or co-opted by the Legislature or the Council as the case may be.

    (3) The term of office of a member nominated or elected or co-opted, as the case may be, under sub-section (1) and (2) shall be the remainder of the term of office of the member in whose place he has been nominated or elected or co-opted.