Contact Address

Directorate of Town & Country Planning
Dispur, Guwahati 781006


India Portal


  1. Administrative Department is headed by the Principal Secretary to the Govt. of Assam, Urban Development Department.
  2. The Directorate of Town & Country Planning, Assam is headed by the Director of Town & Country Planning, Dispur.
  3. Implementation mechanism:
    Under Urban Development Department (UDD), most of the schemes are implemented by Local Bodies (Town Committees or Municipal Boards), Development Authorities and T&CP's Drainage Divisions (Guwahati & Tinsukia) and are facilitated and monitored by the Directorate of Town & Country Planning, Assam, through its district offices.
    1. District Planning offices: The districts are administered by district level offices in 22 districts out of 27 district of the state. District offices of Town & Country Planning at Hailakandi, Morigaon, Golaghat and Tinsukia are yet to be created under this Directorate. Besides, there are two Drainage & Sewerage Divisions at Guwahati and Tinsukia headed by the Executive Engineer. The District level offices are headed by Deputy Director in 17 district offices and Assistant Director in 5 district offices. Presently new offices at Chirang, Udalguri and Baksa under BTC are looked after by the concerned District Offices of Kokrajhar, Darrang and Nalbari.
      View the organizational chart showing the details of sanctioned post in the Town & Country Planning Directorate.
    2. Development Authorities: There are 24 Development Authorities in the 24 masterplan areas created for implementation of Master Plan and other schemes.